Under the Public Transport Regulation Act 2009 (PTR Act 2009), the National Transport Authority is responsible for the licensing of public bus passenger services. Licensed public bus passenger services are often called ‘commercial bus services’, as they are operated without any public subsidy from the NTA. They are also called ‘route licences’ as different routes are individually licensed by the NTA.

More information on the licensing process and application can be found in this section.