South East Regional Model

The South East Regional Model (SERM) is one of five models that comprise the Authority’s Regional Modelling System. The SERM covers the whole of Ireland with the counties of Carlow, Kilkenny, Waterford, Wexford and South Tipperary modelled in detail. The model is centred around Waterford City and includes 563 internal zones with travel between these zones and the rest of Ireland represented by 8 external zones. The zone structure of the SERM is shown in the images below, click on each image to see it in more detail.


The base year of the model is 2012 and it represents an average weekday with five separate peak periods modelled;

  • AM peak (07:00-10:00);
  • Morning Inter peak (10:00-13:00);
  • Afternoon Inter peak (13:00-16:00);
  • PM peak (16:00-19:00); and
  • Off peak (19:00-07:00).

The model covers all surface access modes for personal travel and goods vehicles including private vehicles (taxis and cars), public transport (bus, rail, Luas, BRT, Metro), active modes (walking and cycling) and goods vehicles (light goods vehicles and heavy goods vehicles).