Kilkenny – Dublin (Route 817) overview

In January 2018, The National Transport Authority (NTA) entered into a contract with Bernard Kavanagh & Sons Limited for the provision of the public bus service Route 817.

This bus route runs between Dublin and Kilkenny, with stops in:

  • Georges Quay
  • Heuston Station
  • Newland Cross
  • Naas
  • Kilashee
  • Carnalway
  • Kilcullen
  • Ballyshannon
  • Kilmead
  • Athy
  • Ballylynan
  • Newtown Cross

This Public Service Obligation Contract outlines the performance requirements that Bernard Kavanagh & Sons Limited must meet in return for the payment of a public subsidy.  A proportion of that payment is withheld each month and is only paid if the performance targets are met by Bernard Kavanagh & Sons Limited.

Contract and Schedules:

The contract provides for the approval by the Authority of any service changes outlined in Schedule 1 of the Contract.

The performance of Bernard Kavanagh & Sons Limited is reviewed by the Authority quarterly. The performance reports can be found here.