West Region

The West Regional Model (WRM) is one of five models that comprise the Authority’s Regional Modelling System. The WRM covers the counties of Galway, Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Roscommon and Mayo, and these are modelled in detail.


The West Regional model is centred around Galway City and includes 693 zones as follows:

  • Total Internal Zones: 693
  • Galway City: 138
  • Galway County: 201
  • Donegal County: 108
  • Leitrim County: 27
  • Sligo County: 46
  • Roscommon County: 48
  • Mayo County: 123
  • Special Zones: 2


The highway network in WRM consists of:

  • 12034 assignment nodes;
  • 21026 assignment links;
  • 998 Priority Junctions; and
  • 67 Signalised Junctions.


The image shows the bus and rail network for the WRM. The public transport network in SWRM consists of:

  • Rail: 66 services;
  • City Direct: 4 services;
  • Bus Éireann: 454 services; and
  • Other buses: 168 services.


The Development Reports for the WRM can be accessed below. Please note, appendices are available on request for certain reports.

WRM Zone System Development Report

WRM Road Model Development Report Final

WRM Public Transport Model Development Report

WRM Full Demand Model Calibration Report

WRM Active Modes Model Development Report