About the Authority

Statement of Strategy 2018-2022

Ráiteas Straitéise 2018-2022

The National Transport Authority is a statutory non-commercial body, which operates under the aegis of the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport. It was established on foot of the Dublin Transport Authority Act 2008.

While it was originally conceived as a transport authority for the Greater Dublin Area under the 2008 Act, it was renamed the National Transport Authority in the Public Transport Regulation Act 2009. The 2009 Act, the Taxi Regulation Act 2013, and various Statutory Instruments have greatly extended the Authority’s functions and geographic remit. There remain some specific additional functions in respect of infrastructure and the integration of transport and land use planning in the Greater Dublin Area, reflecting the particular public transport and traffic management needs of the Eastern region of the country comprising approximately 40% of the State’s population and economic activity.

During 2013 the Authority’s taxi regulation functions continued to be governed by the Taxi Regulation Act 2003 pending the making of a Ministerial Order under the Taxi Regulation Act 2013 providing for the repeal of the 2003 Act and the commencement of the provisions of the 2013 Act.

In broad terms, the Authority’s statutory functions can be summarised as follows:

Nationally (including the Greater Dublin Area)

  • Procure public transport services by means of public transport services contracts;
  • Provide integrated ticketing, fares and public transport information;
  • Develop an integrated, accessible public transport network;
  • License public bus passenger services that are not subject to a public transport services contract;
  • Manage the Rural Transport Programme and the successor structure of Transport Co-ordination Units;
  • Provide bus infrastructure and fleet and cycling facilities and schemes;
  • Develop and implement a single public transport brand;
  • Develop and maintain a regulatory framework for the control and operation of small public service vehicles (taxis, hackneys and limousines) and their drivers;
  • Prepare statutory submissions on Regional Planning Guidelines;
  • Collect statistical data and information on transport;
  • Enforce EU passenger rights in rail, maritime and bus and coach transport;
  • Validate EU authorisations and journey forms in relation to bus and coach travel in accordance with EU Regulation No. 1073/2009; and
  • Operate as the national conciliation body for electronic toll service providers.

Greater Dublin Area alone

  • Undertake strategic planning of transport;
  • Invest in all public transport infrastructure;
  • Develop the effective management of traffic and transport demand.

In addition to its statutory functions the Authority also undertakes a number of functions on behalf of the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport on a non-statutory basis. The non-statutory functions include:

  • Planning and funding of sustainable transport projects in the regional cities of Cork, Galway, Limerick and Waterford;
  • Administration of the Smarter Travel Workplaces programme;
  • Management of the Green Schools Travel programme; and
  • Provision of accessibility funding to transport operators and other relevant bodies.

The Authority is governed by a Board of up to twelve members appointed by the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport. Three positions on the Board are ex officio positions reserved for the Chief Executive, another senior manager of the Authority, and the Dublin City Manager.

Board members may be appointed for a period of up to five years and may be re-appointed. However, Board members may serve a maximum of ten years. This restriction does not apply to the ex officio members who stand appointed for as long as they occupy the relevant position.

The role of the Advisory Committee on Small Public Service Vehicles is to provide advice to the Authority or the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, as appropriate, in relation to issues relevant to small public service vehicles and their drivers.

Members of the Advisory Committee are appointed by the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport.

More information on the National Transport Authority is available in our FAQ section.