Smarter Travel Awards 2022 – Winners announced

28 April 2022

The winners of the annual Smarter Travel Awards were announced at an event at the Lighthouse Cinema, Dublin on Thursday April 28th. Partners of the Smarter Travel Workplaces and Smarter Travel Campus programme from around the country submitted projects that encourage sustainable and active travel modes on the commute and beyond.

Anne Graham, Chief Executive Officer at the National Transport Authority said: “We are delighted with the quality and quantity of entries into the Smarter Travel Student Awards this year. Sustainable travel on the commute to campus and beyond has multiple benefits including increased fitness, cost savings and cleaner air. Thanks to all the academic staff who have incorporated the awards into their curricula and we look forward to even more participation in the 2023 Student Awards”.

Entries are judged by an independent judging panel who are experts in their industry. Academic staff from third level colleges are encouraged to get involved with the Student Awards by incorporating Smarter Travel into their graded coursework. Not only does this give students the opportunity to participate in and experience the benefits of a practical project, but it also provides a platform to develop their CV and professional portfolio.

Further information can be found at

Smarter Travel Awards 2022 – Winners


Winning Campus

Winning Project Title

Engineering – Design
Trinity College Dublin The Bull Lock
Engineering – Technology
Trinity College Dublin ROTATE
EngineeringSocial Innovation & Entrepreneurship TU Dublin – Tallaght Ecommute App
Marketing & Events – Marketing TU Dublin – Grangegorman Using the Active Travel Logger in TU Dublin
Marketing & Events –Event Management Munster Technological University – Kerry Walk 4 Rewards
Media – Animation Dunboyne College of Further Education A Better Tomorrow
Media – Video Technological University of the Shannon: Midlands Midwest Just Dance
Media – Audio Technological University of the Shannon: Midlands Midwest Batteries Not Included
Media – Graphic Design and Illustration
Limerick College of Further Education Travel With A Different Perspective


Participating Colleges:

  1. DCU
  2. Dunboyne CFE
  3. IT Carlow
  4. Letterkenny IT
  5. Limerick CFE
  6. MTU
  7. TU Dublin
  8. TUS
  9. Trinity College Dublin
  10. UCC
  11. UCD
  12. Waterford IT


  • No. of entries: 230
  • No. of students involved: Over 400
  • No. of projects shortlisted as Finalists: 49